Magical – Blue Fern Studios February Sketch Challenge

Here is my layout for the Blue Fern Studio February Sketch challenge

magical

The sketch had a valentines look to it so I used these pictures of my

daughter and  her boyfriend.

februarysketch2014

I made the background by first covering most of the page with gesso.

I distressed the edges with a distress tool, some tearing and an edge punch.  I then colored the background with gellatos and several colors of mist.  I used texture paste and a stencil, stamping, embossing,  washi tape, and some rub ons too.

Here is a close up of the texture

magical6

I colored the Blue Fern Chipboard (I love this stuff!) first with black chalk ink.

Then I painted over it with iridescent gel medium, and applied some random blotches of texture paste.  Finally I splashed on some watered down acrylic paint and sprinkled distress glitter over it all.  I think it gave it an interesting look.

 magical2

magical4

I finished everything off with a floral cluster, some cheese cloth, a few resin pieces, a really cool looking big crystal brad and some pearls.

magical1

magical5

Blue Fern Chipboard used:

Blooming Foliage, Winter Titles

2 thoughts on “Magical – Blue Fern Studios February Sketch Challenge

  1. Love the colors and how they go so well with that great photo! Also love what you did with the chipboard. Great take on the sketch! Thanks for joining us in the Blue Fern Studios sketch challenge!

Leave a Reply

