Always With Us

The April Sketch Challenge at Once Upon A Sketch has a journaling theme of “An Event that Changed My Life”.  I decided to choose something a little difficult…

bird

My father died 6 months before my wedding.  While hiking on our honeymoon a blue jay followed us most of the whole day, and let us get strangely close to it.  At some point we joked it was my Dad keeping an eye on us.  From that point forward, a blue jay has appeared in all of my brothers’ and sisters’ lives whenever something important was happening.  It has now become our family reminder that he is Always With Us.

Anyway….here is the sketch.  My journaling is on a tag tucked behind the black and white photo.

Capture

bird4

The background is crumpled tissue paper attached with gel medium, followed by a gesso whitewash, and gelatos.  I also used torn strips of paper, washi tape and rub ons to finish the background.

bird1

bird3

I colored white flowers with paint, chalk ink and gesso.  Also a few micro beads.

bird2

Thanks for looking.  I am going to frame this and give it to my mom for Easter.

5 thoughts on “Always With Us

  1. That background work is fabulous….what a lovely page full of symbolism…..thanks for sharing with us on FB as well as here…& I have to say, you’re not alone…my friend has a butterfly that happens to her family in similar situations…but it’s her Mum that died….these things give us hope & strength I believe….thanks for joining in this month at OUAS:):)

  2. Becky, what a gorgeous page for your special story. It must have been so hard to lose your dad before your wedding. Such a blessing that this special bird reminds you of your dad’s presence in your life!! I adore how you used the b/w and color photos together and thanks for sharing about your hidden journaling! I’m so glad you have joined us for the April Once Upon A…Sketch Challenge and for sharing your layout on our Facebook page! ~ Blessings, Tracey

Leave a Reply

